Saturday, August 21, 2010

Vegan Vs. Vegetarian

Before starting this journey I didn't realize that there were so many different none meet eating categories.
Where do you fit in?

Vegetarian is a blanket term used to describe a person who does not consume meat, poultry, fish, or seafood.

This grouping includes vegans and the various sub- categories of vegetarian; however, it generally implies someone who has less dietary restrictions than a vegan.

The term semi-vegetarian is usually used to describe someone who is a vegetarian who consumes dairy products, eggs, chicken, and fish, but does not consume other animal flesh.

**I have read that many people who are Vegetarian don't believe that this is even a category of vegetarianism, they feel that either you eat animal flesh or you don't end of story. I think be what ever you want to be and call yourself what you want!**

Ovo-lacto vegetarians are vegetarians who do not consume meat, poultry, fish, and seafood, but do consume eggs and milk. This is the largest group of vegetarians.

Ovo-vegetarian is a term used to describe someone who would be a vegan if they did not consume eggs.

**an ovo-vegetarian does NOT consume Dairy**

Lacto-vegetarian is a term used to describe someone who would be a vegan if they did not consume milk.

**This is where I fit in(Between Vegan and Lacto-Vegetarian. I do eat dairy on occasion but I do not eat eggs and try to stay away from other edible animal bi-products**

Vegan is the strictest sub-category of vegetarians. Vegans do not consume any animal products or by-products. Some go as far as not even consuming honey and yeast. Others do not wear any clothing made from animal products.

No comments:

Post a Comment